Information on: Add an Article Add an Event Edit

Lincoln Stars Hockey

Lincoln Stars Hockey
1880 Transformation Drive
402- 474-7827


The Lincoln Stars joined the United States Hockey League in the 1996 and have remained of one of the league's most historic teams since their inception.

The Stars play in the Ice Box, located on the former Nebraska state fairgrounds and adjacent to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. On game days, the Ice Box holds more than 4,500 fans and is known for its iconic light show to start each game. In 2014, The Pipeline Show on TSN 1260 recognized the Ice Box as having one of the top five arena atmospheres in the United States.

Under the direction of former coach Steve Johnson, the Stars won two Clark Cups (1997, 2003) and three Anderson Cups in (2000, 2001, 2003). Johnson finished his 11-year tenure as the Stars all-time winningest coach with a 406-185-50 record.

Since the team's inaugural season in 1996-1997, countless Stars alums have gone on to have collegiate and professional careers. Notable alums include David Backes (St. Louis Blues), Brandon Bollig (Calgary Flames), Jared Boll (Columbus Blue Jackets), Erik Condra (Tampa Bay Lightning) and Matt Bartkowski (Boston Bruins).

Lincoln Stars Hockey is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media